Connected

Posted on April 9, 2011

0


I have a belief that nothing happens by accident.  In recent months, I have been so involved in work and school that I haven’t had much time for anything else.  I know I have talked before about feeling isolated because I get so focused on career and education that I don’t make time for socializing.  In the past couple of weeks, I have had the amazing opportunity to re-connect with friends.  I got to spend a wonderful evening with an old friend and her family, people I have known half my life, my second family for many years.  It was perfect and fun, we laughed, had dinner and coffee, and I cherished every moment.  I have gotten to spend afternoons with my family who I adore, I rescued an adorable puppy and had a playful few days with him until he went to a new home, then tonight I ended up in  a small reunion of sorts.  I went to a meeting at my original home group.  For those of you that don’t know, your home group is the AA group you call your home.  It is the meeting where I got sober, where I went every single day of my life for years, where I made my first sober friends, and where I started my new sober life.  I have since moved from that part of town so I don’t get to enjoy that group as much as I would like to.  Some people have moved on, some of us have moved away, but these people will always hold the most special place in my heart.  So tonight, I went to a meeting at my old home group.  Most of the faces were new, but a few were the same.  My sponsor was there and it was very comforting to sit in a meeting next to him, just like the old days.  After the meeting, we all walked outside and we were enjoying catching up and making new introductions, as the people started showing up for the next meeting.  I can’t tell you how incredible it was.  One person after another after another,  pieces of my past walking in giving hugs saying hellos.  Faces I haven’t seen for a long time.  My first day I ever went to this meeting there were 3 specific people there that struck me.  And every single day I showed up at noon, and every single day these 3 people were there.  One had twenty-some years sober, one had thirty-some years and the other had I-don’t-know-how-many years.  But when they spoke I felt like they saw right through my pain, right through my insanity, and they had figured out something that I desperately needed to know.  They were there everyday, that’s when I knew I should go everyday also.  If this is what it took to succeed, to get well, get healthy, and rebuild my life then that’s what I had to do.  During my second year of sobriety I made some fantastic friends, a fantastic support group, we kept each other on track and spent all of our time together.  Tonight, as I was standing outside on the sidewalk, all of these people came walking in.  One by one, every familiar face of my new life, every new beginning, every person that accepted me and loved me, worked the steps with me, showed me the way,and  inspired me.  These people were such an integral part of my sobriety.  I could never have come this far without their knowledge and experience, their patience and love.  All of us being in that place tonight, at the very same time, from different cities, and different states, coming together at our old home, is definitely no accident.  I know I say it all the time, but I have been blessed.  And tonight I was blessed with the reminder that everything happens exactly the way it is supposed to, and a little reminder to not get complacent, to not take it all for granted, to always be grateful, and stay connected.

Posted in: Uncategorized