David Arquette on Oprah

Posted on February 25, 2011

0


I had the pleasure Thursday to catch a few minutes of the Oprah show with her guest David Arquette.  I wouldn’t normally have been interested, but in the few seconds I gave him to catch my attention, he did. 

I met David Arquette many years ago, very briefly.  Don’t glamorize it, we didn’t become fast friends and meet for coffee and share all of our secrets.  It was probably 15 years ago and we were in the same bar at the same time and we had some mutual friends.  At the very most I think we exchanged a few words and had a drink.  He was a very odd cat. 

Of course, like the rest of the planet, I had heard about his marital discord and that is unfortunate for anyone.  But they were an odd pair, at best, and I can’t say I was surprised.  I was, however, surprised today.  David talked so openly about his life, about his alcohol abuse, about his demons.  He talked about his relationship and the problems he made, he talked about his heartache and his mistakes.  He accepted responsibility, spoke of his intervention, and finally, his sobriety.  There was so much honesty in the things that he shared, and they were painful things.  You know someone is truly recovering when you hear them share from their heart so openly.  And in front of millions of people AND Oprah Winfrey!!! 

I was really impressed with his courage and I hope that he is very proud of who he is becoming.  When you see people recover you get to see them gain a sense of peace.  It is one of the most amazing things I have ever seen.  He seemed confident, and comfortable.  I can not tell you how difficult it is to feel comfortable when you are a substance abuser.  It’s like it is the hardest thing on the planet, and it looks so easy for other people but somehow you just can’t pull it off.  He is doing it. 

Again, I am so grateful for his honesty.  It is so important that people are speaking openly about their struggles.  It gives a message of hope, that healing is possible, recovery is within reach, and that it is okay to get help.  I am so excited about this time that is upon us.  The world of recovery is opening up and becoming available and not something to be ashamed of. 

If you get the chance to catch him on Oprah, you won’t regret it.  It was really refreshing and inspiring.  Thank you David, for being honest, and amazing. 

Posted in: Uncategorized