5 Years Sober

Posted on January 7, 2011

8


Today is the day.  My 5th birthday, 5 continuous years of sobriety.  I feel really happy, and really sad because I don’t have anyone to celebrate with.  Story of my life.  Anway, this past year has been really amazing.  Sometimes I think that it is easy to overlook how good things are when you are in the middle of the work.  The daily activities are so much and so overwhelming that I don’t notice the big picture.  When I have an opportunity to reflect I realize how much was accomplished. 

As some of you know, I am a certified life coach.  I work with people mostly on goal coaching/goal achievement.  When I start working with a new client, the first thing I have them do is make a list of their accomplishments in the past 12 months.  So, on this day, I have been thinking about my own.  How did I start the year, what was happening at the mid-year, and how did I end it?  I had a rough start to last year, but it turned around.  I completed two more semesters of college, I started my blog, I started doing a regular speaking engagement about recovery for a state program, I constructed a resume, I had a beautiful coffee filled summer, I was on the brink of loving someone, I got a B in biology, I got articles published on the internet, I started a retirement account, I paid off my car, I started a savings account, I decorated my apartment, I got a job with an amazing company full of amazing people that will be great mentors for me in the beginning of my career, I joined a new gym, I found a new AA meeting that I really enjoy, I made new friends, I gained new self-confidence, and I stayed sober!!!  Wow!  I was really busy! 

The one thing I can say about this past year, the greatest lesson I have learned, is to never give up.  Never stop moving, never lose faith or hope.  When things aren’t going exactly the way I want them to, when I am uncomfortable or unhappy, the best thing to do is to keep moving.  No matter what, I have to continue to move forward. 

Every year of my sobriety is shocking to me.  It has gone by really fast and every year I am amazed at the lessons I learn and the growth I experience.  I am really, really, really, really, really grateful.  Thank you for being a part of it.  Happy 5 years to me!

Posted in: Uncategorized