Path To Happy

Posted on January 5, 2011

0


I got an e-mail on my Facebook called 17Keys To Happiness-  they are really awesome so  I thought I would use them as posts between and around my normal posts.  I hope you enjoy!

1.  Forget the past. 

You won’t be happy if you carry the burden of the past.. Did you make mistakes?   Did you have terrible experiences?  WE ALL HAVE!  Whatever the memories are, you should let them go.   There is nothing you can do about the past, so you better let it go and focus your energy on the present. 

       I think this is such an important piece of recovery, and sometimes it seems to be our biggest obstacle. When I was drunk, I made decisions that I would never make when I was sober. From driving to another bar when I was already drunk, to using and discarding people, to deceiving people that were my friends. I thought if they never found out that I deceived them then it didn’t matter. But the truth is, I knew what I was doing and it was a direct portrayal of the person that I was. Maybe I could hide things from other people but I couldn’t hide it from myself. The most basic principal of recovery is honesty. I have to be honest about who I was and honest about the things I did. Through the process of getting honest and getting into recovery I have had the opportunity to forgive myself. I have learned that letting go of the past and letting go of that drunken person and the choices of that drunken person allows me to grow up and be a new person.

      I can not go back in time, I can not change the things I have said and done, I can not take away the pain I caused my family with my illness- what I can do is move forward. I can be better now, I can be dependable and I can be present. I am not embarassed by my past, I am glad it happened exactly the way it did. But most importantly I am glad it is over. I am grateful that I have been taught how to navigate through the pain I caused myself and others, and that I have been taught to leave the past in the past. It is over. Leave it behind.

 

Posted in: Uncategorized