Mickey Bush

Posted on December 20, 2010

7


When I was 10 months sober I went on a sober cruise.  It is a regular cruise, on a regular cruise line but it is set up so that sober people can go together, dine together, and have group acitivities as sober people.  It was one of the greatest experiences of my life.  I went by myself and it was amazing.  There were about 55 sober people on the cruise and on the first night we all met in room so we could meet one another and go over our itenerary and all important information including information on the guest speaker.  The guest speaker on my cruise was Mickey Bush.  He also ended up being my neighbor on the cruise with a cabin right next door to mine.  Mickey has a unique style, and at first I was a little startled by him.  He is loud, obnoxious, vulgar, and everything that I am not.  Most importantly, he has a great message and I learned a lot from him.  I was so new at the time, and there were all of these people that had been sober for so long.  It was fascinating to listen to them talk about their lives and the program, the great things that had happened for them in sobriety, and the gratitude they all had.  It was amazing.  To hear Mickey talk about the places he has been and the things he has done, he took us to meetings on every island we went to, he knows everyone everywhere and his entire life is dedicated to sobriety.  I remember going to my room one night after hanging out with everyone, and I remember thinking that Mickey had such an amazing life.  Everything he does from the time he wakes up in the morning, until the time his head hits the pillow at night, is recovery.  I mean, EVERY single thing the man does is recovery!!  I was enamored and totally jealous.  But I remember thinking that is what I wanted to achieve for myself.  Recovery all day everyday.  There have been certain things I have wanted to do, things I want to accomplish, all working toward that goal, and I realized today that it is happening.  Very slowly, but it is happening.  I am making a transition into working in the field of recovery, my education is in the field of recovery, and my heart is in recovery. 

I saw Mickey once since the cruise, I was in his neck of the country and we met at a meeting then hung out for a bit after.  He is a leader for me in my recovery, and made an impression on me that shaped my journey and continues to shape my journey.  He showed me a way of life at a time when I had no path, he was a true leader by being a true example.  For that I am forever grateful. 

A few months ago I was headed back to Mickey’s part of the world and  I tried to reach him, unfortunately I was unable to get him.  I hope he is doing well, I hope he is happy and safe and serene.  I hope he knows, in a world that can be exhausting and heart breaking, he is much needed and much appreciated. 

Cheers-

Posted in: Uncategorized