Song of My Drunkeness

Posted on July 10, 2010

1


I don’t know if anyone else is like this, but I am a music freak and I have songs for every occasion.  There are songs that remind me of specific moments, with specific people, songs that teach me a lesson, songs that make me relax….etc…  The last couple years of my drunkeness were really bad and extremely painful.  Physically painful, but mostly emotionally and mentally painful.  There are always at least parts of a song that I can identify with, but this particular song really hit me and described how I felt, perfectly. 

It’s down to this
I’ve got to make this life make sense
Can anyone tell what I’ve done
I miss the life
I miss the colours of the world
Can anyone tell where I am

‘Cause now again I’ve found myself
So far down, away from the sun
That shines into the darkest place
I’m so far down, away from the sun again
Away from the sun again

I’m over this
I’m tired of living in the dark
Can anyone see me down here
The feeling’s gone
There’s nothing left to lift me up
Back into the world I know

This is just a piece of the lyrics.  I remember the moment I heard the song and almost being in a trance, hanging on every word and feeling the true meaning of every word.  I remember another moment, when I was making very poor choices and causing people a lot of pain, and this song came on.  It stopped me in my tracks because I was so far down.  I felt like I was lost to the world, no one could see me or find me.  Like I was in a hole in the ground looking up into the world where everybody else lived, with absolutely no idea how to get out.  Looking up from the hole, alone, and nobody could see me down there or help me.  Cold, isolated, and alone.  I felt like this guy really understood my pain and he sat down and put my thoughts into words.  I have no idea what the song is about to the band that wrote it, but it means the world to me.  When you are living in darkness and despair, it seems impossible that anyone could understand how horribly it feels, but this song understood me.  I have always said that this is the song that made sense of things for me.  Like it almost explained to me my own situation and made me realize how bad things were, and that I needed to get better.  It’s like hearing the words ‘so far down’  made me realize what direction I needed to go, up.  I will be eternally connected to this song, and forever grateful to 3 Doors Down for being so talented and sharing their talent with the world.  Music has been a lifeline for me since I was a small child and it has saved me more than once.  It’s a different level of communication but seems to be the most important to me. 

I would love to hear everyone’s song experiences, do you have a song that is important to you?   

Posted in: Uncategorized