Drunk Dialing

Posted on June 26, 2010

3


Let’s discuss for a moment, this intriguing phenomenon of drunk dialing, or the now infamous drunk texting.  This is really out of control.  I can only speak from my own experience, and as a thirty-something always single female, I have a lot of experience with this.  Not being the drunk dialer/texter, but being on the receiving end of the drunken retardedness.  I think the thing that really baffles me about this whole thing is what do people expect to achieve with this?  The proverbial ‘booty call’??  Does this actually work??  I’ll give you a couple of personal examples.  One boy, who I dated briefly in my past, never wants to actually go out to dinner or to a ball game or movie, but will start texting me at 1am requesting a ‘movie night’.  Of course I do not respond, but sometimes he will continue to text me and/or call me all night long.  What exactly does he think is going to happen?  Am I supposed to be excited that he is drunk dialing me? Am I supposed to welcome him to come over, stumble in the door, reeking of alcohol, slurring words, sloppy and drunk?  I don’t think so.  Another example, a very good friend of  my ex- a couple of months ago, this guy goes out, gets drunk and decides to get a hotel room so he doesn’t have to drive home.  Since he apparently got a room close to my house, he thought it made perfectly good sense that I should come over at 230 in the morning.  Really??  Again, I did not respond.  When I ran into him later I tried to be cool and funny and make a joke about him calling me like that, and he was actually embarassed.  At least he had the common sense to realize that his behavior was stupid, but it didn’t stop him from doing it again!!! Both of these stories are men over 35.  I guess the really baffling part of it is that I’M SOBER!!!!!  Everybody knows that I am sober, I do not drink, EVER, and have not had a drink for many years.  Why do these people want to drunk dial the sober chic??!!??  So let me get this straight…. they don’t think to call me and ask me out on a date, dinner, ball game, or to even call just to have a conversation.  Maybe even find out my last name.  But when they are drunk and retarded, that’s when they want to spend time with me?  Am I supposed to be flattered by this?  Luckily for me, in my sobriety I have learned to recognize BS and disrespect.  I am a grown woman, I have jobs, I am a student, I am financially independent and secure, I make smart choices for my life and my future, I am focused on being sober, staying sober, and being helpful to other people who want to better their lives, and I expect to be treated with respect because I have earned it and I deserve it.  Perhaps we should all consider a person’s value as a human being before we treat them like a piece of crap with a drunken, gross, call or text. 

Posted in: Uncategorized