Does AA Fit All Sobriety

Posted on May 28, 2010

1


Is AA right for everyone?  I don’t know.  I can only speak about my personal opinion and experience.  I think that alcoholism/addiction is very individual.  There is no ‘one size fits all’ approach.  I believe this to be true for many reasons.  I wrote previously about all the different aspects of addiction, and it is exactly these things that make each person’s experience different.  Some people have depression more than others, some people have some sort of abuse in their history that makes it more complicated, and some people simply can’t stop.  For all these reasons I think that  a person’s path to sobriety is probably as individual as the person’s problems.   I never went to treatment, yet I have friends who have gone to treatment numerous times and can’t stay sober for more than a few weeks at a time.  Some have gone to treatment for 6 months to a year, and still can’t get it.  It is a difficult battle.  I have worked the twelve steps and it has saved my life.  I think the process is amazing and it has allowed me to become a person I never thought I could be.  It gave me a path to follow, with people to guide me, that re-built me from the ground up.  After following the steps and being COMPLETELY honest, there is nothing in the world I can’t do.  I have respect for people and for myself that I never had before.  I am confident and secure, I learned how to value myself.  When I was  drunk I thought I would never be better.  I knew that I was going to die and I th0ught I would die a drunken loser.  Sometimes it feels like it was a different lifetime all together, and I have to remind myself that I could easily be that person again.  If I don’t remain dedicated to my sobriety then I could drink and be that loser again.   I definitely don’t want to do that.  So if someone has some steps for me to work then I will work them.  If someone has a book that they think is helpful then I will read it.  I will do whatever is necessary to continue building this life, sober, no matter what path it is.  After all, you can never be too sober-

Posted in: Uncategorized