Is Alcoholism A Disease?

Posted on May 18, 2010

2


I guess for some people this is quite a controversial question. For me, it is very simple. I hope also that after reading my last several entries everyone has a little better understanding about the lack of control people have over this condition. I decided to approach this question first with a simple definition of ‘disease’:

A pathological condition of a part, organ, or system of an organism resulting from various causes, such as infection, genetic defect, or environmental stress, and characterized by an identifiable group of signs or symptoms.

I don’t know about you but this sounds like alcoholism to me. Then, after reading this definition I wondered what is the definition of ‘pathological’….so here it is:

Of, relating to, or manifesting behavior that is habitual, maladaptive, and compulsive:

It’s like they know me….. Many of the professional associations (psychiatric, hospital, social worker) classify alcohol as a disease.  I am not a doctor but I do agree with them. After doing a lot of reading on the topic, they are fair in how they assess alcoholism, and they are definitely aware of the danger and consequences. I can only speak from my experience and personal knowledge.

I would love to hear other thoughts on the theory, especially from people who disagree. I think sometimes it is easier for me to learn things when people present an opposing view.

Thank you again for taking the time to read and, hopefully, enjoy the blogs. It has been awesome! And please let me know if you have a topic you want to talk about or want me to research….I love the work!!

Posted in: Uncategorized