Am I Weak??

Posted on April 20, 2010

2


A conversation I was having today sparked this train of  thought.  I think this is something that seems to be more common in men than women, but a difficult hurdle in the process of admitting you are an alcoholic.   A lot of people think they are weak because they can’t ‘win’ this battle with alcohol.  It seems strange to me because I felt exactly the opposite.  When I admitted defeat, I felt like I had hope for the first time in a very long time.   I never thought I was weak for being an alcoholic, and maybe I didn’t care.  I just wanted to fix it.  As far as I can see everybody has something.  Some people have diabetes, some people are stupid, some people have fat toes, I am an alcoholic.  As long as I am able to identify my problem, I can fix it.  And as soon as I knew what I was, I started learning how to be better.  The fact is, once I started a program to be sober and stay sober, I have felt stronger than ever.  I have to do a lot of work to keep this sobriety going, far more than a ‘normal’ person will ever have to do.  And I certainly don’t feel weak for it.  Once I identified my problem, I promptly began to kick its a**.  Am I weak?  Absolutely not.

Posted in: Uncategorized